top of page
Writer's picturewendystretton1

Roast vegetables on pizza?

Tomato sauce based pizza's are not my favourite but I wanted a way to enjoy a more traditional type of pizza. I've tried to use different vegetables like zucchini on pizza's before but they just don't cook properly and I ended up being disappointed.

I was trawling through the internet as I do, and came across the Minimalist Baker (one of my fav's) who sauteed the vegetables first before adding them to the pizza. Genius!


In this recipe I roasted mine as I had a bit of time and wanted to use large grape tomatoes which I think are so delicious when roasted whole. If you are short of time then by all means saute the vegetables rather than roast, or use left over roast vegetables from a previous meal. Also, use whatever veges that you like best. What I've used in this recipe is just a suggestion. Like I always say, you do you.


I had some plant based mozzarella left over from another pizza recipe and used it on this one, but honestly? It's better without the mozzarella. I prefer just using a vegan Parmesan cheese instead.


This vegetable amounts in this recipe is enough to make two pizza's or to keep some of the roast vegetables for use later in something else.


Roast vegetable pizza


INGREDIENTS


Roast vegetables

1x red capsicum chopped into 1/2 length strips

1x large zucchini chopped into 1/4 rounds

1x small red onion chopped into chunks

1x small jar of roast artichoke hearts cut into quarters

1x punnet of cherry or grape tomatoes (keep whole)

1 tbs olive oil

1 tsp crushed garlic or 2x cloves of garlic crushed


1x pizza base

Pizza sauce

Vegan mozzarella (optional)

Vegan Parmesan cheese

Chilli flakes (optional if you are feeling frisky)


INSTRUCTIONS

Chop the vegetables and combine in a large bowl with the olive oil and crushed garlic. Stir to mix and ensure all vegetables are coated. Turn out onto a roasting dish and cook in a oven preheated to 200 degrees Celsius for about 30 mins or until the vegetables are cooked. Put the pizza base on a preheated pizza stone then cover the pizza base with the pizza sauce. Add the roast vegetable mix on top then add vegan mozzarella if you are using it. Place the pizza stone in the oven and cook for approx for 20 minutes until the pizza based is cooked and browned around the edges. Once out of the over, sprinkle with vegan Parmesan cheese and chili flakes before serving.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page