top of page
Writer's picturewendystretton1

Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie

This smoothie is of course inspired by Reese's Peanut Butter Cups as I used to eat them a lot when I lived in Canada back before I went plant based.

I haven't calculated the calories exactly for this recipe (I'm slightly scared to do so as I don't want to stop making it!) so I can only guess that it's probably not the healthiest smoothie you could ever make. BUT, I think it's totally worth it.


I don't particularly like my smoothies to be too cold so I don't add ice or freeze my banana's unless of course they are ripe and I can't use them quick enough. So if you like a cold smoothie then add a handful of ice or a frozen banana. Adding these won't change the rest of the recipe so go on ahead.


If you don't have medjool dates or if the ones you have are a bit dry, try soaking the dates in some hot water for a few minutes first to soften them and this will also help with the processing too if you don't have a high powered blender. Even the Nutribullet struggles a bit with the dates without being soaked.


Crunchy peanut butter is my favourite kind and is what I use in this recipe. I make sure that the only ingredient in the peanut butter we buy is peanuts! This does mean that sometimes the peanuts and oil separate but a quick mix soon fixes that. Cacao powder is rich in antioxidants, a range of vitamins and of course protein!


You can use any plant based milk you like or water if you prefer. I find unsweetened almond milk to be the best in smoothies as it gives a creamy texture without the additional sweeteners or calories. So maybe this smoothie isn't so unhealthy after all!


Peanut butter cup Smoothie


INGREDIENTS

1x banana

4-5 medjool dates

1 tbs peanut butter

1 tbs cacao powder

1 tbs maple syrup

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

Smooth peanut butter and vegan dark chocolate chips or buttons for garnish.


INSTRUCTIONS

Blend until there are no small bits of the dates floating around. Garnish with smooth peanut butter and vegan dark chocolate chips or buttons if desired.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page